Thursday, August 23, 2012

LAST POST ON THE DANCING READER: See you on the other side?

DON'T FREAK OUT. 

So, I know, way back in February, I made a similar post, talking about leaving this blog. That was because I was too busy and couldn't find the time to blog anymore.

That was a lie. Because clearly, I just had a stressful month and I could have just taken a hiatus.

But this time, I'm actually leaving this blog. WHY YOU ASK, it's still summer (at least for me)! 

Well, I'm leaving this blog because of the following reasons:
  • This coming school year is going to be INTENSE. Like, hardcore. 
  • I'm joining ANOTHER BLOG. 
You heard me correctly! I'm going to start co-blogging with the wonderful Beverely at A Reading Daydreamer! Beverley and I have actually been talking about it for the past month, emailing each other back and forth, and we think it'll work out, since she will be busy as well, and was looking for a co-blogger. We figured if we joined forces, we would be able to keep our blog readers happy. :) So please, if you are a loyal follower of mine and would love to see more of my reviews & posts, PLEASE head on over to A Reading Daydreamer and follow via GFC, Linky, Networked blogs, Facebook, or all!

I'm very, very, proud of the posts I have accomplished on The Dancing Reader, and I recently hit 100 GFC followers, and I can't thank you guys enough for staying with me. It would mean so much to me if you guys followed me over to A Reading Daydreamer!

I will not be deleting this blog. It's too much work to go to waste! I will of course leave it up for other readers to read, even if it will no longer be updated. Thank you, guys! I love y'all. <3

A Reading Daydreamer


Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Inbetween Blog Tour: Review, Author Spotlight, & Giveaway!


Hi everyone! Today I'm here as part of the Inbetween Blog Tour! I have my review of the novel, an author spotlight, as well as a giveaway for a signed copy--make sure you go enter!! Thank you so much Shane for hosting this blog tour. Check out the rest of the blog tour here.

______________________________________________

My Review of Inbetween by Tara Fuller


"Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky — and unending — lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.
It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul."



Title: Inbetween
Author: Tara Fuller
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 400, Paperback

I admit it. I am still in love with Paranormal Romance novels, and I am not ashamed to say it. So when I found out that INBETWEEN was about reapers, I jumped at the chance to read it, seeing that I have never read about reapers before! Lucky for me to say, INBETWEEN did not disappoint. A beautiful love story that PR lovers won't want to miss, INBETWEEN stole my soul and didn't give it back until I was finished.

One of the things I really enjoyed was the characters and the point of views. The story is told from Finn AND Emma's point of views, and the transition from one character to the next was comfortable and easy-going. The character development was also done very well, and Finn's love for Emma pretty much made my heart crumble. So, so tender. I love sweet romances like that. While there was a VERY, very subtle love triangle, it surely did not aggravate me in any way.

Another aspect of INBETWEEN that I really appreciated was the idea. Reapers. There aren't too many reaper-paranormal-romance novels out there in the YA genre, and I ALWAYS appreciate authors who give other supernatural creatures a go. The world-building was fantastic. While it was a bit confusing in the beginning, I was still able to enjoy the story without being frustrated.

Overall, I am extremely satisfied with Miss Fuller's work, and I can happily say that I am ecstatic to get my hands on the rest of the installments in this breath-taking new series.

Grade: A

Source: For review for blog tour



______________________________________


Author Bio (Spotlight)

Tara Fuller writes novels; some about grim reapers and some about witches. All of course are delightfully full of teen angst and kissing. Tara grew up in a one stop light town in Oklahoma where once upon a time she stayed up with a flash light reading RL Stine novels and only dreamed of becoming a writer. She has a slight obsession with music and a shameless addiction for zombie fiction, Mystery Science Theater, and black and white mochas. Tara no longer lives in a one stop light town. Now she lives with her family in a slightly larger town in North Carolina where they have at least three stoplights.

__________________________________________________


Giveaway Time! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Saturday, August 18, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (29)

I think I should put myself on a Netgalley ban as well. Yeah. (Links lead to Goodreads!)



Netgalley:
** Thank you SO much S&S, Egmont USA, Disney--Hyperion, and as well as Macmillan! <3


Library:
**For an upcoming blog tour! THIS BLOG TOUR GOT FILLED UP INSANELY FAST. I can't wait for this one. Thanks Shane!!

Audiobook Library:

Friday, August 17, 2012

Review: The Duff by Kody Keplinger

"Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn't think she's the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her "the Duff," she throws her Coke in his face.
But things aren't so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.
Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone. And eventually, through this realization, Bianca begins to see how harmful her unhealthy way of dealing with her problems has been, and finds a way to confront them head on."

Title: The Duff
Author: Kody Keplinger
Release Date: June 7, 2011 (PB)
Publisher: Poppy
Pages: 280, Paperback

After reading one of my very good blogger friend's review of THE DUFF, I knew I had to check it out (Ehem, Gianna from Books To Infinity). To my delight, THE DUFF met my expectations and did just that. There was the fun story line and enjoyable characters, as well as your everyday high school drama. Recommended for anyone looking for a quick, entertaining read!

THE DUFF was able to present the reader with a very engaging plot and easy-flowing storyline. I found myself breezing along with hardly any discomfort. Overall very enjoyable. I was surprised that I was indulged in the simple cast of the story!

The characters weren't the best, but they were definitely tolerable enough for me to keep reading. There definitely could have been more depth in each character. I have to say that I can't agree with most of Bianca's actions most of the time, but I see where she gets her motives. For me, Wesley is exactly the type of guy that I would stay away from, and Mr. Toby Tucker was more of my type. ;) Bianca's friends were very supportive of her and I can't help but admit that I would love to be part of their close-knit group!

I also revered the fact that this book acquaints an important lesson, and I think it's something everyone can get out of. It was quite eye-opening for me, actually. Now the only flaw that I have to say for the downgrade is the idea that Kody Keplinger may give to her readers: sex is a good way to escape your troubles. IT'S NOT.

All in all, I was very satisfied with Kody's debut novel, and while I didn't enjoy her sophomore novel as much (SHUT OUT, review here), I will still be anticipating Kody's other works of literature!

Grade: B

Source: Read at B&N :)

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Glitch Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway!










Hi everyone! Today, the GLITCH BLOG TOUR is stopping by my blog today! I have a review for you guys, as well as a giveaway to win a signed copy--make sure you enter!! Thank you Shane for hosting this blog tour. Check out the rest of the tour here.

____________________________________________



My Review of Glitch by Heather Anastasiu


"In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.
When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.
As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.
In this action-packed debut, Glitch begins an exciting new young adult trilogy."

Title: Glitch
Author: Heather Anastasiu
Release Date: August 7, 2012
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Pages: 371, Paperback

Prior to reading GLITCH, I had heard really, really mixed things about it! But the synopsis just sounded SO intriguing, and I knew I couldn't pass it up. Who knows, right? To my surprise, I enjoyed GLITCH much more than I expected to. The dystopian/sci-fi elements were fantastic. The plot was very fast-paced and was able to keep me on the edge of my seat. The only downplay in this action-packed dystopian was the insta-love.

But before I get into the negativity of the novel, I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with how well Heather was able to come up with such an intricate world. The Community is not your average dystopian world; it's much more technology-based.The world-building was strong and believable. I liked how there was actually a reason behind the Link, as well as the reason WHY the people were being controlled, unlike some dystopians that don't even explain WHY the world is that way.

Although the plot and world-building were adequate factors in GLITCH, the characters and romance, were not. I hate insta-love with a fiery passion. So you can imagine how this got to me. Yes, the emotions are especially new to every character, especially love, because they are new to this type of life, when they are glitching. But really? All three main characters--Zoe, Adrien, AND Max abuse the emotion. The insta-love triangle. They literally FALL IN LOVE-- LIKE THAT. Oh my goodness, I could probably rant about Max all day. His possessive-ness got to my nerves, literally every second I wanted to smack him. He is so CREEPY. Like, get away man! But seriously, they were all really naïve. And Zoe? You can NOT just fall in love with someone just because they have gorgeous eyes. Nope. You can't. At least I don't think you can.

Despite the need in improvement in the relationships of the characters, GLITCH is a solid scientific dystopian that, if you can get around the insta-love-triangle, will keep the reader engaged and committed until the end.

Grade: B

Source: Publisher for Blog Tour


_______________________________________

GIVEAWAY!

Monday, August 13, 2012

Review: The Kill Order by James Dashner

"The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series.
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.
Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.
Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive."

Title: The Kill Order
Author: James Dashner
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336, Hardcover

Being a huge fan of The Maze Runner Trilogy, I was beyond excited to be able to read The Kill Order right after I finished The Death Cure. Sure, The Death Cure wasn't as amazing as the previous two novels in the trilogy, but I was thrilled nonetheless. However, The Kill Order is the most disappointing novel yet. I'm sad to say that everything in The Kill Order just fell flat for me, literally everything. The characters, plot, and intensity. Do not get me wrong, James Dashner is still one of my favorite authors out there, and I am in no way bashing his writing. I just had my expectations set high.

First, the different characters in the novel. Since The Kill Order takes place 13 years before Thomas and the Gladers' time, we have a fresh new set of characters to learn from. However, my thoughts the entire time were that the characters were just… copy cats of Thomas & Teresa. It's like James Dashner couldn't leave them and he had to make Mark & Trina similar to them. I felt like I was reading about Thomas and Teresa the entire time, instead of the perspective of the supposedly new characters.

Next is the plot. I didn't feel the same excitement I felt for in The Maze Runner trilogy. It just wasn't there anymore. I knew I was reading intense and heart-racing scenes, but it just wasn't the same. I'm not 100% sure what it was, but I just couldn't fully engage myself into the story. I was basically TRUDGING through this book. By halfway, I wanted it to be over.

Even now that I've completed the book, I'm still not sure whether to tell readers to read this prequel BEFORE you read the trilogy, or after. In my experience, I think that reading the prequel after reading the trilogy made it extremely boring and lacking, since you already know the end result of the Flare disease, and the conclusion for the characters.. On the other side of the spectrum, if you read the prequel before you read the series, it may provide MAJOR spoilers, or just plain confusion, as well as boredom in the series later on.

Personally, The Kill Order was a major let down, and I couldn't have been more sad. If you are thinking about reading this series, I recommend to just read the trilogy. The prequel is not necessary.

Grade: D+

Source: Publisher via Netgalley--thank you Random House! 

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (28)

Hey y'all! Not too many books this week, which I am SO thankful for. I got really behind on my reading this week... :// (Links lead to Goodreads)



Bought on Kindle:
**I got this one for only $2.24! :D

Audiobook Library:
**Yep. Still working on the HP series. . .



Netgalley:

*Thank you Egmont USA & Netgalley for having "READ NOW!" titles available!

My Reading Pile (Aug. 12-Aug. 19) hosted by Rachel @Fiktshun
Hey y'all, you can see what I'll be reading here, for the Bout of Books 5.0 Readathon! Before I start the readathon however, hopefully I'll be able finish:


What books did you get this week?

What books are you reading this week?


Friday, August 10, 2012

Bout of Books 5.0 Readathon

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon
Hi guys! You might have seen this readathon jumping around a couple of other blogs. I've decided to join in! Check out the Bout of Books blog here. The readathon includes chats, challenges and giveaways, but I'm just sticking with the main purpose: reading. I got REALLY behind in my reading this week with dance camp and all. So in the 7 days of the readathon, I'd like to read:

  • Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
  • Inbetween by Tara Fuller
  • Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
  • Feast of Fools by Rachel Caine (audio)
  • Speechless by Hannah Harrington 
  • Burn For Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
  • Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (audio)

So basically I'm just trying to catch up on review books! BTW, this is the first ever readathon I'm participating in! It should be fun. :)

Are you participating in this readathon?
 What books to do you plan on reading? 



Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

"Thomas knows that Wicked can't be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they've collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It's up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.
What Wicked doesn't know is that something's happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can't believe a word of what Wicked says.
The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine.Will anyone survive the Death Cure?"


Title: The Death Cure
Author: James Dashner
Release Date: October 11, 2011
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 325, Hardcover

Prior to starting The Death Cure, I had heard very mixed things about it. After completing the novel in the later hours of the night, I have to agree a little. For me, The Death Cure is the weakest novel out of the trilogy, when in my opinion, should have been the strongest. Even after I read the last sentence of the novel, I still had a hundred questions running through my mind, unanswered. The Death Cure still had that unique James Dashner voice throughout the novel, but the plot itself could have been better.

For one, I felt myself trudging through the first 3/4 of the book. I have no idea why, but it was SO hard to get through! Nothing was happening, nothing intense to make me flip the pages very fast. It was just very slow-paced and boring.

It was the last 1/4 of the book that really picked up and bumped this up half a star. The transition from slow to fast paced was very quick and some elements that James Dashner included just made me really happy [spoiler] for example, when they have to go back to the Maze. Aw, GOOD OL' TIMES. [end of spoiler] However, I think the way James Dashner ended things was really interesting. It wasn't my favorite, and I felt as if he didn't really know how to end it, so he just.. ENDED IT LIKE THAT. I was really surprised with who James chose to die and who survived…. I was a little let down.

The characters were another boost for me though: Thomas's growth in character--his decisions that he makes and the friends he choses in the end shows obvious maturity throughout his journey. And can we just talk about Minho for a second? That boy is a plain AWESOME shuck face. GO ASIANS. He made me laugh so many times.

In all, The Death Cure had it's ups and downs, and I wasn't satisfied with the conclusion, but I wasn't exactly disappointed, either. Nevertheless, the ongoing elements from the previous two novels that were transferred to book three kept the story alive and going.

Grade: B

Source: Library (Hardcover)

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Review: The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

"Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.
In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety . . . until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.
Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim . . . and meal.
The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.
Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?"
Title: The Scorch Trials
Author: James Dashner
Release Date: October 12, 2010
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 360, Hardcover

One word: Insane.

You'd think that since The Scorch Trials is the second book in a trilogy, it'd be the most boring. You've all heard of it; the first book is the attention-getter, book two is the filler, and the final book is the one with all the answers and satisfying ending. Well, The Scorch Trials is one true exception to that statement. In fact, The Scorch Trials was even BETTER than it's predecessor!

James Dashner stays strong with everything that came from book one: amazing plot twists, deathly cliffhanger chapters, and intriguing characters. Think that and times 154702. It's that much better. If you thought The Maze Runner was intense, think again, because book two leaves the reader wanting SO much more than before. More questions, more enemies. It's all in there.

And you know that awesome THRILL you get when you don't know who the good guy is or who the real bad guy is? Well, there is PLENTY of that. It's exhilarating and unbelievable.

However, the setting change was a little weird for me. I was so used to the characters being in the Glade, and the setting change to the Scorch was… different. In my opinion, even the genre changed a little (can you believe it?). The Maze Runner was definitely more dystopian, but The Scorch Trials was dystopian + zombie apocalypse (add in the Cranks, and there ya go!).

All the same, The Scorch Trials did not disappoint, and only leaves the reader wanting more. Much, much more.

Grade: A++

Source: Library
  

Monday, August 6, 2012

July Wrapup + August TBR!

Hey everyone, and welcome to my July Wrapup + August TBR! I decided to combine the two since this post is already a couple of days late.. But July was INSANE (insane is my word of the month). I read a lot of awesome books!! I've decided to do things a little differently; I'll only include:

  • My top favorites
  • Most disappointing reads
  • Link up my Weekly Book Hauls
Here we go!

_________________________________

Top Favorites of July: (links lead to my review!)
This one was ohmygoodness one of my favorites of the year. SO. Amazing. 
Not only was this one steamy, it dealt with some issues that were really important and tied together the story very well.
A re-read, and just as amazing the second time through. LOVE this dystopian world.
Such a cute, adorable book! One of my favs of 2012 for sure!
  • The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
*Review up soon*. This was like even better than book one. Serious.

Most Disappointing Read: (links lead to my review)
I wasn't exactly expecting much out of this one, since I hadn't heard much about it, but this was the lowest rating of the month. 

Weekly Book Hauls: (links lead to the post)

_______________________________


Time for the August TBR! I managed to complete all but one book last month, so I think I'm doing great! I have so many review books to get done with this month. It's pretty much the last month of summer (GASP) and I won't have as much time to read.

August TBR pile: (excludes audio books, since those are random!)
  • The Death Cure by James Dashner
  • The Kill Order by James Dashner
  • Glitch by Heather Anastasiu 
  • Beautiful Disaster by Jaime McGuire
  • Inbetween by Tara Fuller
  • Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
  • Speechless by Hannah Harrington
  • Burn For Burn by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Dearly, Departed by Lia Habel 
  • Dearly, Beloved by Lia Habel
  • Skinny by Donna Cooner


WOW. Yep. That's 12 books. I have no idea if I'll be able to do that. But I'll definitely try! 

What books did you read in July?

What's in your August TBR?

Let me know in the comments or link me to yours!



Saturday, August 4, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (27)


Here's what I hauled this week! (Links lead to Goodreads)


Audiobook Library:
*Ahhh too many vampires!! HttG's for you, Gianna. ;))


For Review:

*For an upcoming blog tour!

Bought (Kindle):
*There are just too many ebook deals right now. I narrowed it down to these two! Heard great things; only $2.99!

My Reading Pile (Aug. 4-Aug. 11) hosted by Rachel @Fiktshun
I'll be at dance camp for literally the whole week so I know I won't be getting much reading done. But here's my overly optimistic list!

I started The Kill Order last week, so I know I'll be finishing this one soon. I'm more than halfway through Midnight Alley as well. I know I'll get started on Glitch, and I really hope to finish it. Beautiful Disaster, oh man, I've heard really mixed things. I think I'll like it though!

What books did you haul this week? What's in your reading pile? Let me know! :D


Thursday, August 2, 2012

Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

 "Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list.Through Hannah and Clay's dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers."

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Release Date: October 18, 2007
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 288, Hardcover

Thirteen Reasons Why is a powerful story that is must read for every teenager, whether they are being bullied or not. The voice of Hannah's character is very strong and compelling. Not only is the lesson learned extremely important, the story is told in a unique manner.

I had read this one a couple years back, so it's definitely a re-read. I remember the first time I read Thirteen Reasons Why, I really enjoyed it. The second time through, my feelings remain the same. It definitely deals with much more serious issues than I'm used to; bullying, suicide, and a some rape. But it's these types of contemporary novels that I get the most out of. Thirteen Reasons Why definitely stands out in the YA genre.

Clay Jensen, the main character who is listening to Hannah's tapes, is a very likeable boy. His struggles felt very real to me and that's what I loved. His thoughts were fathomable and I was able to connect with him surprisingly well. Although I understood Hannah's motives for recording the tapes, something in the back of my mind kept nagging at me; I felt like Hannah only recorded the tapes to make her victims feel bad. Anyone else have that thought when reading this book?

Aside from that indistinct concept, Thirteen Reasons Why leaves the reader walking away with a different mind and heart. I won't be surprised if this novel becomes required reading in the future!

Audiobook Performance: The audio was alright, pretty good. Not stellar, but definitely acceptable. Hannah's narrator felt a little old, but it was done well. It was difficult getting accustomed to Clay's voice, but in hindsight, I enjoyed it. Definitely give the audio a try, since you'll be listening to an audio tape on audio! ;)

Grade: A-

Source: Audio Library

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Cover Reveal: Options by Abbi Glines

Hey guys! Today I am revealing the cover for Abbi Gline's latest novel, OPTIONS. It is a YA urban fantasy, and  a first book in a new trilogy. It is to be released on February 5, 2013! Here is the cover!





Book Description:
"Two paths. Two completely different roads. Each one standing before me. Each one holding a different destiny. In life you're just supposed to choose one path.  In life you're not given the chance at choosing one specific future. Until now. Until me.  Why am I different? I don't know. But I'm going to see those roads and walk down each one. When it's over I'll know which one to choose because I'll know my - options."

Isn't it just GAAWW-JUS? What do you think about this cover? I love the complementary colors on this cover: the green background and then the contrasting red title words. It's very mysterious with the door at the far end of the forest tunnel, I think. And the girl is beautiful!

This cover was designed by Stephanie Mooney at Mooney Designs.

Make sure you add it to your to-read list! And happy reading!

Monday, July 30, 2012

Review: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

"When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse enclosed by stone walls.
Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them, open. Every night they are closed tight. And that every 30 days a new boy is delivered in the lift.
Thomas was expected. Only the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. 
Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets that are buried within his mind."


Title: The Maze Runner
Author: James Dashner
Release Date: October 6, 2009
Publisher: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
Pages: 374, Hardcover

Guys. Guys.

I read this book about a year and half ago, before I remotely even knew about the blogging world. I picked it up simply because my friend told me to read it. And I did. And I LOVED IT. Reading it the second time, I love this book just. As. Much. There is still the non-stop action, intensity, and sheer AWESOMENESS of it all. So. FREAKING amazing y'all.

Everything was perfect for me in this book: the world building, the characters, and of course, the cliffhanger endings at the end of each chapter. I absolutely canNOT wait to continue with the series. The Maze Runner is a unique dystopian that will not leave readers disappointed.

First, the world-building. It's incredible. The fact that the main character, Thomas is inserted into the world of the Glade with no memory of his past is a perfect setup for the readers. As Thomas learns more and more about his new world, it's as if the readers are learning right alongside him. And there is so much detail! James Dashner sure did a fantastic job creating this distinctive world. It definitely stands out.

Next up, the characters. James Dashner was easily able to portray each character's thoughts expertly. I was able to understand very well of what each character was going through; whether it be stress, loss, hope, I got it. I really, really loved Newt & Chuck. Even though they may not be the brightest of the lot, they have a special place in my heart for being there for Thomas.

Lastly, the cliffhanger chapters. Mr. James Dashner is a clever, clever man. He does this thing, called CLIFFHANGERS. At the end of literally, EVERY SINGLE CHAPTER. It's not frustrating, nope, not at all. It freaking makes the reader keep on reading, and reading, and reading, until the last page is flipped. Now that's talent.

To sum it all up, The Maze Runner is a fast-paced dystopian that is a MUST for all dystopian lovers. If you love tension, LOTS of action and all that good stuff, The Maze Runner is NOT one you'll want to miss.

Grade: A+

Source: Library
  

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (26)


Hey y'all! Not too many books this week, but they are all quite awesome! (All links lead to Goodreads)


Library:
*Hides in shame. I'm so good with this library book ban, right? Lol no.


Audiobook Library:
*Already read this one 2 years ago, but wanted to read again! :)


My Reading Pile (July 29-Aug. 4) hosted by Rachel @Fiktshun
Here we are... heading into the last month of summer. *cries* Last week was a pretty sloooow week for me, so I do hope to finish 1 or 2 more before July is officially over! Books I hope to read this week:
I'll probably be able to finish Thirteen Reasons Why very early in the week, and I'm about halfway through The Scorch Trials. After The Death Cure, I'd LOVE it if I can get a head start into The Kill Order!

What books did YOU get this week? I'd love to know, leave your links in the comments please! 


Friday, July 27, 2012

Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

"After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.
Her opponents are men—thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the kings council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.
Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.
Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined."
Title: Throne of Glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: August 7, 2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Pages: 416, Hardcover

I was really freaking scared to start this book.

Why? Well, obviously this book was hyped up to the MAX. Literally every review I read was "FIVE STARS FIVE STARS READ THIS BOOK NOW." Thankfully, I was very satisfied with Sarah's masterpiece. I certainly understand why everyone was in love with this one: the action, characters, romance, intensity, mystery, and more! However, there's just this one thing that brought my love for this book down a notch: the pacing in the beginning that was supposed to grab my attention.

First, though, let's talk characters. Every character was so, so unique and important, even the background characters. They all somehow intertwined into the story, making themselves significant. . Celaena is one kick-ass heroine everyone is sure to love. She's bold, strong, and smart. Everything I love about a female character! And then there's Chaol. I loved him from the start. He is always, always, always at Celaena's side. Surprisingly, I didn't find it annoying at all. Instead, I found it heart-warming, and yes, even if he IS a guard, I don't know, it just made me love him that much more. And Dorian. At first, I really, really, despised Prince Dorian. From my point of view, he was just a bratty, arrogant player. But now… I kind of really like him. I'm still a bit undecided on which "team" I'm on. Guess we'll just have to find out what happens in book two, eh? ;)

Next, the elements that were thrown in expertly into this novel. We've got action, mystery, romance, fantasy, everything that makes a reader a happy cookie. All of these were mixed in very well and I can say that I would LOVE to see more. The action kept me on the edge of my seat; the romance had my heart thumping a million beats a minute; and the mystery had my skin crawling. Everything was great.

Then there's that pacing in the beginning that I didn't like. Throne of Glass was hard to get into. For sure, it definitely lagged, and I had to push myself through, telling myself, "The good part is coming soon, I can feel it!" It was quite detailed and just slow in general.

But aside from that minor defect, Throne of Glass is a wild ride you won't want to miss, filled with tension, a murder mystery, a sweet romance, and much, much more. I cannot wait to see more from Sarah J. Maas.

Grade: A

Source: Publisher via Netgalley--Thank you so much, Bloomsbury! 



Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Waiting On: Alice In Zombieland by Gena Showalter

"She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.
Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.
Her father was right. The monsters are real….
To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies…."

GOODREADS - AUTHOR'S WEBSITE 

Title: Alice In Zombieland
Author: Gena Showalter
Release Date: September 25, 2012
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN


Y'all. Y'all. 


I've been hearing AMAZING things about this one, and it just looks so so great. And the cover is just so puurrttty. I haven't read anything by Gena yet, but I like really really have to. 


What are you guys waiting on? Leave me links and I'll stop by your blog. :)
*Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at BtS.



Saturday, July 21, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (25)


This week was full of awesome. Like actually. (All links lead to Goodreads):



Library:
*I got The Kill Order last week from Netgalley, so I figured that it would be good to read them first. And this series was part of my Summer To-Read List! :)


Won (ish):
*My library had a Summer Reading Program and you got a free book when you read 7 books. Technically I picked Finnikin of the Rock, and I made my sister choose Unwind. :)



Netgalley:
*EEEEPPP. Thank you so much St. Martin's Press, Random House, Simon & Schuster, HarlequinTEEN, and Netgalley! 



Audiobook Library:
*I finished the first one earlier in the week, I decided to continue! Love this series!


For Review (Blog Tour)
*GUYS. My first blog tour EVARRR. I'm so excited. Thank you Jaime & Tara! Sign-Ups are closed, but you can check out the post here! Thanks Shane for hosting it!


My Reading Pile (July 22-28) hosted by Rachel @Fiktshun
July is ending too soon! Here is what I hope to read this week:

Speak was on my original TBR pile list, so I'm still going strong and following it. I need to start The Maze Runner series, since The Kill Order is out in a couple of weeks and I need to read the whole series before posting my review. 


What books did you get this week? What's in your reading pile?



Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Waiting On: Speechless by Hannah Harrington

"The story of a girl named Chelsea Knot who takes a voluntary oath of silence after her gossip-mongering ways yield unexpected consequences…
Say she’s sorry isn’t enough."


GOODREADS - AUTHOR'S WEBSITE 


Title: Speechless
Author: Hannah Harrington
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN


The synopsis given is quite short. Nonetheless, I'm still excited. It sounds pretty emotional if you ask me. And I really enjoyed Hannah's debut novel, Saving June. I loved her writing and I can't wait to see more of it! And that cover is so freaking simple & beautiful it kills me.


What are you waiting on? Leave me links and I'll come and stop by! :D
*Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at BtS