Thursday, August 23, 2012

LAST POST ON THE DANCING READER: See you on the other side?


So, I know, way back in February, I made a similar post, talking about leaving this blog. That was because I was too busy and couldn't find the time to blog anymore.

That was a lie. Because clearly, I just had a stressful month and I could have just taken a hiatus.

But this time, I'm actually leaving this blog. WHY YOU ASK, it's still summer (at least for me)! 

Well, I'm leaving this blog because of the following reasons:
  • This coming school year is going to be INTENSE. Like, hardcore. 
  • I'm joining ANOTHER BLOG. 
You heard me correctly! I'm going to start co-blogging with the wonderful Beverely at A Reading Daydreamer! Beverley and I have actually been talking about it for the past month, emailing each other back and forth, and we think it'll work out, since she will be busy as well, and was looking for a co-blogger. We figured if we joined forces, we would be able to keep our blog readers happy. :) So please, if you are a loyal follower of mine and would love to see more of my reviews & posts, PLEASE head on over to A Reading Daydreamer and follow via GFC, Linky, Networked blogs, Facebook, or all!

I'm very, very, proud of the posts I have accomplished on The Dancing Reader, and I recently hit 100 GFC followers, and I can't thank you guys enough for staying with me. It would mean so much to me if you guys followed me over to A Reading Daydreamer!

I will not be deleting this blog. It's too much work to go to waste! I will of course leave it up for other readers to read, even if it will no longer be updated. Thank you, guys! I love y'all. <3

A Reading Daydreamer

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Inbetween Blog Tour: Review, Author Spotlight, & Giveaway!

Hi everyone! Today I'm here as part of the Inbetween Blog Tour! I have my review of the novel, an author spotlight, as well as a giveaway for a signed copy--make sure you go enter!! Thank you so much Shane for hosting this blog tour. Check out the rest of the blog tour here.


My Review of Inbetween by Tara Fuller

"Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky — and unending — lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.
It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul."

Title: Inbetween
Author: Tara Fuller
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 400, Paperback

I admit it. I am still in love with Paranormal Romance novels, and I am not ashamed to say it. So when I found out that INBETWEEN was about reapers, I jumped at the chance to read it, seeing that I have never read about reapers before! Lucky for me to say, INBETWEEN did not disappoint. A beautiful love story that PR lovers won't want to miss, INBETWEEN stole my soul and didn't give it back until I was finished.

One of the things I really enjoyed was the characters and the point of views. The story is told from Finn AND Emma's point of views, and the transition from one character to the next was comfortable and easy-going. The character development was also done very well, and Finn's love for Emma pretty much made my heart crumble. So, so tender. I love sweet romances like that. While there was a VERY, very subtle love triangle, it surely did not aggravate me in any way.

Another aspect of INBETWEEN that I really appreciated was the idea. Reapers. There aren't too many reaper-paranormal-romance novels out there in the YA genre, and I ALWAYS appreciate authors who give other supernatural creatures a go. The world-building was fantastic. While it was a bit confusing in the beginning, I was still able to enjoy the story without being frustrated.

Overall, I am extremely satisfied with Miss Fuller's work, and I can happily say that I am ecstatic to get my hands on the rest of the installments in this breath-taking new series.

Grade: A

Source: For review for blog tour


Author Bio (Spotlight)

Tara Fuller writes novels; some about grim reapers and some about witches. All of course are delightfully full of teen angst and kissing. Tara grew up in a one stop light town in Oklahoma where once upon a time she stayed up with a flash light reading RL Stine novels and only dreamed of becoming a writer. She has a slight obsession with music and a shameless addiction for zombie fiction, Mystery Science Theater, and black and white mochas. Tara no longer lives in a one stop light town. Now she lives with her family in a slightly larger town in North Carolina where they have at least three stoplights.


Giveaway Time! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (29)

I think I should put myself on a Netgalley ban as well. Yeah. (Links lead to Goodreads!)

** Thank you SO much S&S, Egmont USA, Disney--Hyperion, and as well as Macmillan! <3

**For an upcoming blog tour! THIS BLOG TOUR GOT FILLED UP INSANELY FAST. I can't wait for this one. Thanks Shane!!

Audiobook Library:

Friday, August 17, 2012

Review: The Duff by Kody Keplinger

"Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn't think she's the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her "the Duff," she throws her Coke in his face.
But things aren't so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.
Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone. And eventually, through this realization, Bianca begins to see how harmful her unhealthy way of dealing with her problems has been, and finds a way to confront them head on."

Title: The Duff
Author: Kody Keplinger
Release Date: June 7, 2011 (PB)
Publisher: Poppy
Pages: 280, Paperback

After reading one of my very good blogger friend's review of THE DUFF, I knew I had to check it out (Ehem, Gianna from Books To Infinity). To my delight, THE DUFF met my expectations and did just that. There was the fun story line and enjoyable characters, as well as your everyday high school drama. Recommended for anyone looking for a quick, entertaining read!

THE DUFF was able to present the reader with a very engaging plot and easy-flowing storyline. I found myself breezing along with hardly any discomfort. Overall very enjoyable. I was surprised that I was indulged in the simple cast of the story!

The characters weren't the best, but they were definitely tolerable enough for me to keep reading. There definitely could have been more depth in each character. I have to say that I can't agree with most of Bianca's actions most of the time, but I see where she gets her motives. For me, Wesley is exactly the type of guy that I would stay away from, and Mr. Toby Tucker was more of my type. ;) Bianca's friends were very supportive of her and I can't help but admit that I would love to be part of their close-knit group!

I also revered the fact that this book acquaints an important lesson, and I think it's something everyone can get out of. It was quite eye-opening for me, actually. Now the only flaw that I have to say for the downgrade is the idea that Kody Keplinger may give to her readers: sex is a good way to escape your troubles. IT'S NOT.

All in all, I was very satisfied with Kody's debut novel, and while I didn't enjoy her sophomore novel as much (SHUT OUT, review here), I will still be anticipating Kody's other works of literature!

Grade: B

Source: Read at B&N :)

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Glitch Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway!

Hi everyone! Today, the GLITCH BLOG TOUR is stopping by my blog today! I have a review for you guys, as well as a giveaway to win a signed copy--make sure you enter!! Thank you Shane for hosting this blog tour. Check out the rest of the tour here.


My Review of Glitch by Heather Anastasiu

"In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.
When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.
As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.
In this action-packed debut, Glitch begins an exciting new young adult trilogy."

Title: Glitch
Author: Heather Anastasiu
Release Date: August 7, 2012
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Pages: 371, Paperback

Prior to reading GLITCH, I had heard really, really mixed things about it! But the synopsis just sounded SO intriguing, and I knew I couldn't pass it up. Who knows, right? To my surprise, I enjoyed GLITCH much more than I expected to. The dystopian/sci-fi elements were fantastic. The plot was very fast-paced and was able to keep me on the edge of my seat. The only downplay in this action-packed dystopian was the insta-love.

But before I get into the negativity of the novel, I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with how well Heather was able to come up with such an intricate world. The Community is not your average dystopian world; it's much more technology-based.The world-building was strong and believable. I liked how there was actually a reason behind the Link, as well as the reason WHY the people were being controlled, unlike some dystopians that don't even explain WHY the world is that way.

Although the plot and world-building were adequate factors in GLITCH, the characters and romance, were not. I hate insta-love with a fiery passion. So you can imagine how this got to me. Yes, the emotions are especially new to every character, especially love, because they are new to this type of life, when they are glitching. But really? All three main characters--Zoe, Adrien, AND Max abuse the emotion. The insta-love triangle. They literally FALL IN LOVE-- LIKE THAT. Oh my goodness, I could probably rant about Max all day. His possessive-ness got to my nerves, literally every second I wanted to smack him. He is so CREEPY. Like, get away man! But seriously, they were all really naïve. And Zoe? You can NOT just fall in love with someone just because they have gorgeous eyes. Nope. You can't. At least I don't think you can.

Despite the need in improvement in the relationships of the characters, GLITCH is a solid scientific dystopian that, if you can get around the insta-love-triangle, will keep the reader engaged and committed until the end.

Grade: B

Source: Publisher for Blog Tour



Monday, August 13, 2012

Review: The Kill Order by James Dashner

"The prequel to the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series.
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.
Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.
Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive."

Title: The Kill Order
Author: James Dashner
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336, Hardcover

Being a huge fan of The Maze Runner Trilogy, I was beyond excited to be able to read The Kill Order right after I finished The Death Cure. Sure, The Death Cure wasn't as amazing as the previous two novels in the trilogy, but I was thrilled nonetheless. However, The Kill Order is the most disappointing novel yet. I'm sad to say that everything in The Kill Order just fell flat for me, literally everything. The characters, plot, and intensity. Do not get me wrong, James Dashner is still one of my favorite authors out there, and I am in no way bashing his writing. I just had my expectations set high.

First, the different characters in the novel. Since The Kill Order takes place 13 years before Thomas and the Gladers' time, we have a fresh new set of characters to learn from. However, my thoughts the entire time were that the characters were just… copy cats of Thomas & Teresa. It's like James Dashner couldn't leave them and he had to make Mark & Trina similar to them. I felt like I was reading about Thomas and Teresa the entire time, instead of the perspective of the supposedly new characters.

Next is the plot. I didn't feel the same excitement I felt for in The Maze Runner trilogy. It just wasn't there anymore. I knew I was reading intense and heart-racing scenes, but it just wasn't the same. I'm not 100% sure what it was, but I just couldn't fully engage myself into the story. I was basically TRUDGING through this book. By halfway, I wanted it to be over.

Even now that I've completed the book, I'm still not sure whether to tell readers to read this prequel BEFORE you read the trilogy, or after. In my experience, I think that reading the prequel after reading the trilogy made it extremely boring and lacking, since you already know the end result of the Flare disease, and the conclusion for the characters.. On the other side of the spectrum, if you read the prequel before you read the series, it may provide MAJOR spoilers, or just plain confusion, as well as boredom in the series later on.

Personally, The Kill Order was a major let down, and I couldn't have been more sad. If you are thinking about reading this series, I recommend to just read the trilogy. The prequel is not necessary.

Grade: D+

Source: Publisher via Netgalley--thank you Random House! 

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Weekly Book Haul (28)

Hey y'all! Not too many books this week, which I am SO thankful for. I got really behind on my reading this week... :// (Links lead to Goodreads)

Bought on Kindle:
**I got this one for only $2.24! :D

Audiobook Library:
**Yep. Still working on the HP series. . .


*Thank you Egmont USA & Netgalley for having "READ NOW!" titles available!

My Reading Pile (Aug. 12-Aug. 19) hosted by Rachel @Fiktshun
Hey y'all, you can see what I'll be reading here, for the Bout of Books 5.0 Readathon! Before I start the readathon however, hopefully I'll be able finish:

What books did you get this week?

What books are you reading this week?