Monday, February 27, 2012

In Conclusion: February 2012

February was a bad month.

Let's just say:
  • I had a dance competition.
  • I had regular & added dance practices.
  • I got sick TWICE.
  • I fell behind in school because I got sick twice.
Therefore, I hardly got any reading done. I sincerely hope March will be better. It could be since there is spring break (EEP), but I have 2 dance competitions--a regular one and the state competition. But it will be the last one of the year!

Anyways, back to the books I read in February (Click on title to read my full review. Quote is taken from my review):

"Lola and the Boy Next Door will surely touch at many people's
 hearts like it did to mine. Stephanie Perkins, you are a goddess."
Grade: A++

"Lies Beneath is a well-written mermaid story that I recommend
 to people who love underwater creature books with action. I look
 forward to Anne Greenwood Brown's other books!"
Grade: B+

Other Words For Love by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal
(not yet reviewed)

So um...that's all. Really. REALLY TRULY. Three books for the month of February. *cries in a corner*

So hopefully March will be tons better. Until next time... happy reading!

Sunday, February 26, 2012

In My Mailbox (10)

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren! This week, I got:

I haven't read any of Claudia's other novels, but I figured I'd start 
off with this one, since it's not part of a series or anything. It looks 
great--werewolves & the Titanic! (Borrowed from Library)

I read her book Suite Scarlett a couple of years ago and didn't 
like it much. But this isn't her usual chick flitty type of book, 
so I thought I'd give it a shot! (Borrowed from Library)

I saw Ya-Aholic's Review of this one a couple of months back, 
and it looks so intriguing (Haley's reviews are very informative!)
 And then I saw it was FREE! :D (Bought from Amazon, free)

Kiss the Morning Star by Elissa Janine Hoole
Yipee! I absolutely LOVE roadtrip books. :) So friggin' excited.
(From Netgalley)

First Frost by Jennifer Estep
This is #0.5 of the Mythos Academy Series, and I have just been wanting to
 read this series for FOREVER. I can't. Wait. Not sure if I'll be able
 to get to it though. :( (Ebook borrowed from Library)

That's what I have in my mailbox! Really good week, even though so little.
I need to catch up on my reading. What did you get?
 Feel free to leave a link or comment! 

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Re-reading Books

I came across Rachel @ Fiktshun 's blog post about Re-reading and re-rating. It really had me thinking, that I DO have a lot of books that I actually really need to re-read. Some I just plain love, and need to experience it again. Others I remember I loved, but have no recollection of what happened in the book. That's pretty much my biggest problem right now.

So many sophomore novels are coming out this year in 2012. I read a lot of the first books in 2011, but come to think of it, I don't remember more than half of the character's names. So here are just some books that I want to re-read.

Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly

I read this back in the summer of 2011, and I absolutely ADORED IT. One of the best angel books I have ever read. The second book, Angel Fire, is now out, and I really want to get my hands on them. Buuuuuut I can't. Because all I really remember is that Willow and Alex are in love and there are bad angels in the book. Pretty sad, I know, I have terrible memory. So I may just have to pick this back up very soon.

Man, I read this one waaay back when it first was released. I remember that I loved how it was action packed. And it was a SCI-FI. That I actually really enjoyed. And mystery. The blend was perfect. A Million Suns is now out, and I also have a very strong urge to grab it, but I don't really remember the character's names, or what happened in the end. I need to pick this one up in the very near future. (No pun intended)

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
I read this one also in the summer of 2011, and this angel book is also one of my favorites. Very different from other stories. And TUCKER! I remember that I was team Tucker. For some reason, this one is fresher in my head, but I still want to read it again before reading Hallowed, which is also already out. It's still a little foggy.

Oh my. I'm so disappointed in myself. I read this one in 6th or 7th grade, I can't remember. THAT WAS A LONG TIME AGO. I'm in 9th grade now, and I remember that this wasn't all that amazing. But I was in 6/7th grade, I probably didn't understand the amazing and  holiness of it. I feel so bad. I actually have to read this. I never continued the series, either. And I CLEARLY need to.

Hmmm, I think I read this one in Feb/March/April of 2011. I kind of skimmed through it, since I hadn't even read the entire Mortal Instruments series. I did like what I read, though. Gah, writing this post makes me ashamed of myself...

I can honestly say that I don't remember when I read this. I feel like it was maybe at the end of 2010 or early 2011. I read it before it became really popular. I loved it, but it didn't "change me" like it did to a lot of people. So I feel like I need to pick it back up and see if it makes a difference.

Now for 2 books that are just my absolute FAVORITES that I feel like reading again. 

Sigh. I read Lola and the Boy Next Door not too long ago, and it really made me realize how much I missed Anna. I read this one in the summer of 2011, and I really, truly miss it. I need to buy this book.

SO. AMAZING. This is my most favorite dystopian.. ever. Insurgent is coming out soon! (ish) And I WILL read it again before it's release date. I keep telling myself to not read The Hunger Games because I want to like Divergent more. :) I have so much love for this one. 

So that's it, guys! I have A LOT of books to reread... such LESS time for so 
MANY books. D: Do you guys have books you want/need to re-read? If so, what?

Sunday, February 19, 2012

In My Mailbox (9)

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

Great books this week!

This one just looks great! A retelling of Romeo & Juliet I think! 
The cover is gorgeous, too! (Borrowed from Library)

I've heard REALLY mixed things about this one.
But I don't read enough about zombies!! And this cover is SO
 pretty in person. Gosh darn it. (Borrowed from Library)

I'm not a big fan of her other books, but this one
 sounds more serious. (Borrowed from Library)

I haven't read a John Green book yet, but I know
 that I'll like them!! (Bought from Costco)

I have no idea what this one is about, but it was free!
 And the cover is so wintery and pretty looking. :)
(Bought from Amazon, free)

This book has just been EVERYWHERE! It looks interesting, 
so I'm going to give it a try! (Bought from Amazon, free)

I FREAKED OUT when I found out this was free. Ever since I
 saw Ya-Aholic's review of this, I wanted to read it so badly.
 NOW I HAVE IT. (Bought from Amazon, free)

I DOUBLE freaked out when I saw this was free too!
 I have been wanting to read this for foreverrrr! 
(Bought from Amazon, free)

I won this from her giveaway on Valentine's day! That cover is creepily 
gorgeousss. Thanks Rebecca! (Won from giveaway)

So um, yeah. I'm probably the ONLY book blogger out there
 who hasn't read this book yet... comment below if you haven't 
either! (Borrowed from School Library *I FREAKED out..*)

I really, really, really need to read this book. 
It's going to be a movie soon with Emma 
freaking WATSON in it!! (Borrowed from a friend)

This is book two of the Significance series! I bought Significance awhile
 back and I still haven't gotten around to it. But I got this 
one anyways since I KNOW I will love her books. :) 
(Won from giveaway, thank you Mandy!!)

I want to see this movie. Rob Pattinson= <3
(Bought from Goodwill)

My friend loves this book! A lot! I think there is a 
movie for this book too..(Bought from Goodwill)

I borrowed this book from my friend a couple of months ago,
 and I still have it. But I saw this one for a cheap price so I 
just decided to get it! (Bought from Goodwill)

I've heard AMAZING things about this book. 
Plus, I don't seem to get enough sci-fi/dystopian.
 (Bought from  Goodwill)

So much awesomeness this week! Much thanks to my local library, Costco,
 Amazon, Rebecca, Mandy, my school library, my friend, and Goodwill. What did you guys get?

Friday, February 17, 2012

Book Review--Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown

Summary/Cover Image from Goodreads:

"Calder White lives in the cold, clear waters of Lake Superior, the only brother in a family of murderous mermaids. To survive, Calder and his sisters prey on humans, killing them to absorb their energy. But this summer the underwater clan targets Jason Hancock out of pure revenge. They blame Hancock for their mother's death and have been waiting a long time for him to return to his family's homestead on the lake. Hancock has a fear of water, so to lure him in, Calder sets out to seduce Hancock's daughter, Lily. Easy enough—especially as Calder has lots of practice using his irresistable good looks and charm on ususpecting girls. Only this time Calder screws everything up: he falls for Lily—just as Lily starts to suspect that there's more to the monsters-in-the-lake legends than she ever imagined. And just as his sisters are losing patience with him."


I'm always on the lookout for mermaid/siren books, because I just love the underwater world. It's always intriguing; it seems like it would be amazing to be a sea creature with a gorgeous scaled-tail. So Lies Beneath was definitely an eye-catcher. I didn't expect too much or too less, so I wasn't disappointed. Lies Beneath is a great, solid read.

Calder and his three sisters are sirens. But they aren't typical sirens. They drown humans so they can take away a feeling: happiness. And they are seeking revenge on the Hancocks for killing their mother. So they hunt the Hancocks down, only they want Calder to seduce the Hancock daughter so they can later on kill the father. Things don't go as planned and Calder must figure out who's side he must go on, his sisters's side or the Hancocks.

The characters were alright. I definitely liked the change in perspective (Lies Beneath is told from a male's point of view). It's really different and fresh. I was reluctant on Calder's character at first because he didn't have any emotions or feelings that are particularly flamboyant. I don't hate him, but there isn't any spark. But when Lily comes into the story, his whole character lights up and I loved Calder after that. I really, really liked Lily. She's so sweet and smart and caring, I totally understood why Calder liked Lily so much.

On the other hand, Calder's sisters were so, so annoying. I hated them from the start. They are all so cocky and full of themselves. They are also seductive towards Calder, which is actually disgusting. Ugh, disastrous. But, they are supposed to be hated (mostly) so I'm on the right track!

The plot was delightful. It had a great amount of chilling, underwater moments. I loved those, they are very suspenseful. The twist in the end was very unexpected and took me by surprise. Lily and Calder's blooming of a relationship was a little fast-paced (insta-love) but it wasn't ridiculous, so I could still go with it. The plot was very sturdy.

Something totally random: I think the title really suits the story of the book. This is a title I actually really like! How Calder has to hold in so many lies from Lily, and they are beneath as in underwater.... I'm not sure my interpretation is correct, but it makes sense to me that way!

Overall, Lies Beneath is a well-written mermaid story that I recommend to people who love underwater creature books with action. I look forward to Anne Greenwood Brown's other books!

Grade: B+

Lies Beneath will be released on June 12, 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers!

Source: Publisher via Netgalley--Thank you for providing me with an ARC!

**NOTE: This review will be re-posted again towards the time of the release date.**

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Book Review--Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Summary/Cover Image from Goodreads:

"Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit -- more sparkly, more fun, more wild -- the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. 
When Cricket -- a gifted inventor -- steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door."


**NOTE: The cuteness of this book is a little too amazing. Beware.**

After reading Anna and the French Kiss nearly a year ago, I KNEW that Stephanie Perkins would be my new favorite author. After reading Lola and the Boy Next Door, she continues to be my favorite author. Lola does not disappoint one bit. In fact, I can't even decide which one I liked better. Stephanie Perkins is purely magical.

Lola Nolan is a very quirky character who loves costuming and fashion. She is the daughter of 2 gay dads and a girlfriend of a rocker, Max. All is well up until the Bell twins return to the neighborhood. Everything just goes downhill from there. And with the occasional uphill, but you know, there's mostly a lot of disasters. Lola must find out who her true love is while balancing family problems as well.

The characters in this book were oh-so-lovable. Seriously, they were real to me. VERY real. Stephanie Perkins has a way with creating very realistic characters. And the emotion that flows out of them is just too fabulous. Let me tell you, at first, I wasn't the biggest fan of Lola. She was too weird for my taste, but I soon jumped on the Lola Nolan train when I realized she is quirky in a good way.

CRICKET. You guys, Cricket.

I don't really have words for how much I LOOOVE Cricket.

He is so awkward in that adorable kind of way, and I just can't help myself but love him as much as Lola does. Oh my, is it humanly possible to fall in love with a fictional character?!

On a different note, Max... I hate Max with a fiery passion. FIERY. It is so CLEAR that he isn't Lola's true love. I mean, just look at him. Just no, Max. Just no.

But I loved Lola's dads, and Lindsey. Even though her dads were extremely nosy, I still liked them. They are very devoted fathers and caring. Lindsey is just plain funny and "sleuth-like".

The plot was so entirely perfect. SO PERFECT. The relationships weren't perfect, which I loved. The more realistic the relationship, the better. Watching Lola and Cricket's love unfold made Lola and Max's relationship look like a stick.  I also loved how Stephanie weaved in Anna and St. Claire into the story, that was like greeting an old friend again. Loved it. An irregularity that I just adored was the concept of Lola and Cricket's nightly meetings on their bedroom windowsills. So intimate and adorable.

As you can see, I'm running out of adjectives to describe Stephanie's writing. It's just extraordinary and like no other. Her writing style is so uplifting and it makes my heart soar when I read every page. I don't know many people who can do that to me.

On the whole, Lola and the Boy Next Door will surely touch at many people's hearts like it did to mine. Stephanie Perkins, you are a goddess.

Grade: A++

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Amazon, B&N) is now out!

Source: Borrowed from a friend

Sunday, February 12, 2012

In My Mailbox (8)

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

I, once again, love eBooks. And need to stop getting them because I've only read 3 out of the probably 50 that I own... (Click on titles takes you to Goodreads)

I've never read a Levithan book so this 
could be my first..! (Ebook from Library.)

I got Wanderlove a couple of weeks ago, 
which is her sophomore novel, so I think it's 
appropriate to pick up this one too!
 (Ebook from Library.)

I haven't heard much about this one at all. 
I just saw it on Twitter and decided to 
get it! ( Bought from Amazon, free)

Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey
I was *so* excited when I saw this at my library.
 What a pretty cover too! (Library)

Sometimes It Happens by Lauren Barnholdt
I had this one back in the summer, but never got to it.
 I guess it's time for me to read it! (Library)

Chime by Franny Billingsley
I've heard mixed things, but I'd still love to try it!

Exiled by M.R. Merrick
Seriously, all I've heard is "amazing" for these books.
 I have decided to try it for myself! (Bought from Amazon)

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
I've definitely heard mix things about it, but the illustrations
 are just SO awesome-looking! And did you know that
 Daniel Handler is Lemony Snicket?! (Book from School Library)

Other Words For Love by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal
I've heard some great things about it! Lauren from
  Lauren's Crammed Bookshelf also recommended this to me. :)
 (Borrowed eBook copy from Library)

Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey
This one just looks great! So creepy and different. :)
(Borrowed eBook copy from Library)

I heard about her other book, Initiation, so I know
 who she is. Then I found out that this one was free!
 This is also the special edition. (Bought from Amazon, free).

My friend actually recommended this me! Before, I hadn't
 heard anything about it. I'm excited to try it! 
(Borrowed from School Library).

This one was also free on Amazon, and the premise 
definitely sounds much different from anything else I've 
read in YA! (Bought from Amazon, free)

I've heard that Megan is a fantastic Indie author,
 I can't wait to start off with this one! (Bought from Amazon, free)

This cover is gorgeously creepy... I like the dress! 
Some mixed reviews on this one. (Bought from Amazon, free )

I've never heard of this one until this week, 
but it has some great ratings! (Bought from Amazon, free)

So much thanks to my local library, my school library, 
and the amazing Amazon. What did you all get this week? 
Feel free and leave links. :) I'd love to see what you guys got!

Thursday, February 9, 2012

I Apologize!

Hi everyone! So, as you can see, this is an apologetic post. About WHAT? you ask. Well.

This problem has already been mentioned in a post from the past (January) and that is my lack of reviews. I'm  human. I have things to do and places to go. I wish with all my life that I could just sit down and read for a year without any disruptions or distractions. I really do.

But I can't do that.

That's unrealistic.

Dance team and school is literally taking over my life. My basic schedule is this: Eat. School. Dance. Homework.  And if I have time, read/blog. And if I have even MORE time, sleep. Yep, sleep is at the bottom of my list now. You can say I'm a little sleep deprived.

I really do apologize for my boring, lacking blog. It's so bad, because, I just started out. I really don't want to let anyone down, but I'm afraid I have. But I will not give up. I've stopped blogging once, and I will not do it again. I will try and stay persistent, because I love book blogging.

 I'm a slow reader as well, so it doesn't exactly help. I try to find time to read whenever I can. These days it's riding the bus to and from school (eBook) and then a physical book at home (usually late at night when I'm done with homework).

So I guess what I'm saying is, bear with me. STAY with me. I'm sorry, again. There will be weeks where there's literally no new posts... and weeks where there will be a couple of reviews. Totally bad scheduling, but that's all I'm capable of right now. I would love to hear suggestions from everyone! It would help me tons.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and most of all, thank you to my followers. And staying with me! I hope this busy-ness slows down very soon.

With lots of love (and hope!),
The Dancing Reader

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Currently Reading (2/6/12)

Hey guys! So since I don't do Waiting on Wednesdays anymore, and I don't have anything going up on the blog this week, I decided that you guys needed something to look at on my blog. So I've decided to do a Currently Reading and maybe tell you guys what I think of the book so far.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

I'm about halfway through the book, and I'm in LOOOOVE. At first I was sure that I was going to like Anna and the French Kiss more than this one, but now I'm not so sure. I'm used to Lola's quirkiness now, and I just LOVE Cricket. He's in a way easier to connect to than St. Clair since Cricket's not perfect. :D

We'll see how it goes...

I got this one off of Netgalley, and it releases in a couple of months, but I just felt like reading a siren book. So far, it's alright. Most siren books tend to not work out for me. This one's told from a male's POV, so that's always interesting. I'm only about 9% done with it, so I still have a long way to go until I can properly decide if I like this book or not! 

So that's what I'm reading right now! I hope you all enjoyed this post and let me know if you guys would like to see it again. :)

Sunday, February 5, 2012

In My Mailbox (7)

In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi @The Story Siren.

Deadly Cool by Gemma Halliday
I wasn't really planning on getting this one, but I've heard some pretty great things it! Does anyone know why they changed the girl's eyes? On the actual cover, she's not wearing eyeliner on the bottom anymore.. weird..
Source: Library

Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic
This book looks very sad. And good.
Source: Library

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
DON'T WORRY: I've read this before. :) I just want to read it again, because I HONESTLY don't remember anything... and I wanna pick up Hallowed soon! I just remember I ADORED this book!
Source: Library

You Are My Only by Beth Kephart
I've been wanting to read this one for awhile!
Source: Library eBook

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
MY FRIEND GOT IT SIGNED FOR ME GUYS. TO *MY* NAME. I happy danced for literally half an hour. I LOVE MY FREIND. I'm so happy I can't even spell things right. =))
Source: From my amazing friend.

Heavenly by Jennifer Laurens
This one was free on Amazon, so I had to get it! Another Jennifer Laurens book. :)
Source: Bought from Amazon

Past Midnight by Mara Purnhagen
Lauren from Lauren's Crammed Bookshelf said she LOVED this book, so I think I decided to pick it up! It's about ghosts, too :)
Source: Library eBook

Exiled by RaShelle Workman
*drools* THAT COVER GUYS. gaaahh.
Source: Bought from Amazon (free)

So that's all I got this week! What did you guys get? Feel free to leave links to your IMM and I will check it out! Happy reading. :)